冰因子延迟重开

访问前的一个 5 旅游景点在高原 - 现在预订活动!

冰因子Kinlochleven的大量火焰伤害力运营商推迟重新开放…

冰因子Kinlochleven的所有者, 在开业 2003 作为世界上最大的室内攀冰设施今天 (3 八月) 证实了340万£设施将继续,直到八月至少年底作为消防的最后一个星期三的结果关闭 (29 七月).

由苏格兰消防和救援调查小组详细检查 (阿伯丁) 在周五 (31 七月) 总结火灾是偶然的和元素的建筑的桑拿区域内的故障引起.

桑拿区中,看到在随后的大火被彻底摧毁 80 人们安全疏散和消防车辆从Kinlochleven出席, 威廉堡和奥本.

虽然损失评估仍在进行中, 运营商预计,整顿引起火灾损害的成本将运行到几万甚至几百个十万英镑.

七月和八月是重要的贸易个月,什么是苏格兰的顶级探险旅游景点之一. 在过去五天, 冰因子的工作人员作出了艰巨的努力,试图重新打开西部高地设施,包括全国攀冰中心的一部分.

冰因子人员清理天 2

然而, 虽然的结构 119 岁 建造 (从前是维多利亚铝冶炼厂) 完好无损, 整个工厂广泛烟害,迫使运营商推迟重开至少一个月.

杰米·史密斯, 业主和冰因子Kinlochleven董事总经理, 解释: “尽管大规模的团队的努力,火灾发生后,试图得到的冰因数运行几天至少一部分, 现在很清楚的是广泛的烟害, 包括冰爬墙意味着我们必须至少在接下来的四周保持关闭.

“直到火灾最后一个星期三的下午, 冰的因素是在课程上为在已经在欢迎一个创纪录的一年 162,000 所有年龄和能力的游客谁来自英国各地和海外的体验和享受攀冰, 攀岩和空中冒险历程.

对烟害拥有所有必要的压力清洗和蒸汽清洁

不幸, 造成的损害意味着,即使所有 125 攀登路线必须被剥离下来,更换.

乔·康纳和千电子伏撤消个月的工作

“我想感谢谁已经提供的援助在过去几天了很多人,道歉,我们的许多忠实顾客, 包括谁使用该设施来训练苏格兰的山地救援队成员, for the inconvenience this incident has caused. We will now wholly focus on rectifying the damage and ensuring Ice Factor Kinlochleven is once again open for business at the earliest opportunity.”

Ice Factor Kinlochleven is part of Ice Factor International that also operates Snow Factor Braehead to the west of Glasgow. That facility gives skiers and snowboarders of all ages and ability the chance to enjoy snow sports year round on the UK’s largest indoor real snow slope and adjacent to which climbers can learn and practice on 12 米高的冰爬墙.

通过敬请期待 Facebook的/冰因子 要么 Twitter的@youricefactor for updates.

Ice Factor Delay Reopening

Visit one of the top 5 visitor attractions in the highlands - book your activities today!

Extensive fire damage forces operator of Ice Factor Kinlochleven to delay reopening…

The owner of Ice Factor Kinlochleven, opened in 2003 as the world’s largest indoor ice climbing facility has today (3 August) confirmed that the £3.4 million facility will remain closed until at least the end of August as a result of a fire last Wednesday (29 July).

A detailed inspection by the Scottish Fire and Rescue Investigation Team (Aberdeen) on Friday (31 July) concluded the fire was accidental and caused by the failure of an element within the sauna area of the building.

The sauna area was completely destroyed in the subsequent fire that saw over 80 people safely evacuated and the attendance of fire appliances from Kinlochleven, Fort William and Oban.

While damage assessments are still ongoing, the operator expects that the cost of rectifying the damage caused by the fire will run into tens of thousands and possibly hundreds of thousands of pounds.

July and August are key trading months for what is one of Scotland’s top adventure tourism attractions. Over the past five days, Ice Factor staff had made a herculean effort to try and reopen part of the west highland facility that includes the National Ice Climbing Centre.

Ice Factor Staff clean up day 2

However, though the structure of the 119 year-old building (a former Victorian aluminium smelter) survived intact, extensive smoke damage throughout the facility has forced the operator to delay reopening for at least a month.

Jamie Smith, owner and managing director of Ice Factor Kinlochleven, explained: “Despite a massive team effort to try and get at least part of Ice Factor operational just days after the fire, it is now clear that extensive smoke damage, including to the ice climbing walls means we must remain closed for at least the next four weeks.

“Until the fire last Wednesday afternoon, Ice Factor was on course for a record year having already welcomed over 162,000 visitors of all ages and ability who come from all over the UK and abroad to experience and enjoy ice climbing, rock climbing and the aerial adventure course.

Smoke damage to holds all need pressure wash and steam clean

Unfortunately, the damage incurred means that even all 125 climbing routes must be stripped down and replaced.

Joe Connor and Kev undo months of work

“I’d like to thank the many people who have offered assistance over the past few days and apologise to our many loyal customers, including members of Scotland’s Mountain Rescue teams who use the facility to train, for the inconvenience this incident has caused.  We will now wholly focus on rectifying the damage and ensuring Ice Factor Kinlochleven is once again open for business at the earliest opportunity.”

Ice Factor Kinlochleven is part of Ice Factor International that also operates Snow Factor Braehead to the west of Glasgow.  That facility gives skiers and snowboarders of all ages and ability the chance to enjoy snow sports year round on the UK’s largest indoor real snow slope and adjacent to which climbers can learn and practice on 12 metre high ice climbing walls.

Stay tuned via Facebook/Ice-Factor or Twitter @youricefactor for updates.