我们自己的马克·沃纳有雄心壮志

访问前的一个 5 旅游景点在高原 - 现在预订活动!

的山上跑盛会 所罗门葛伦·科天际线, Steall Skyrace和垂直公里的环 比赛几乎是在我们身上.

虽然我们大多数人会怀疑是否离开葛伦·科和山丘马莫雷直到一个安静的周末, 参赛者将很难在训练中为自己选择的种族出了三对报价上周末 16-18 九月.

除了一个.

mark_warner _-_ skyline_story

对于 34 岁的马克·沃纳是,这将是训练比赛.

基于巴拉胡利什攀岩教练计划用他的削弱能源29公里Steall Skyrace的所罗门环的第一次体验到了阿玛达布拉姆峰的尼泊尔东部的上升做好准备.

在攀登6812米 (22,349FT) 峰, 被称为“喜马拉雅的马特”由于其飞涨脊和陡面的, 马克和他的登山伙伴汤姆·霍罗克斯希望能募集到超过1000£为尼泊尔的慈善机构, 全球期.

然而, 对为期三周的远征十月出发前, 在冰因子Kinlochleven攀岩教练的重点是成功完成Steall Skyrace的所罗门环登顶所有2500米. 马克说: “周六的比赛开始和结束在冰因子,所以我认为这将是一个有趣的和艰难的活动来完成我的登山阿玛Dablam.To提高我的耐力,我已经做好了定期小山运行准备工作的一部分, 包括带有加权背携, 在攀登冰因素,做一些山地自行车也“。

支持他的妻子林赛, 谁是他们的第一个孩子在一月, 马克承认,他走的是认真比赛: “我并不期望赢得它,甚至站上领奖台,但我真的很想做一个好时机 - 在四小时内可能. 如果我做的好,我甚至可以进入更强硬的所罗门伦科天际线明年!”

Our very Own Mark Warner has High Ambitions

Visit one of the top 5 visitor attractions in the highlands - book your activities today!

The hill-running extravaganza of the Salomon Glen Coe Skyline, Ring of Steall Skyrace and Vertical Kilometre races is almost upon us.

And while most of us will wonder whether to leave the Glen Coe and Mamore hills until a quieter weekend, contestants will be hard in training for their chosen race out of the three on offer on the weekend of 16-18 September.

Apart from one.

mark_warner_-_skyline_story

For 34 year-old Mark Warner it’s the race which will be the training.

The Ballachulish-based climbing instructor plans to use his first experience of the energy-sapping 29km Salomon Ring of Steall Skyrace to prepare for an ascent of Ama Dablam in eastern Nepal.

In climbing the 6812m (22,349ft) peak, known as the ‘Matterhorn of the Himalayas’ on account of its soaring ridges and steep faces, Mark and his climbing partner Tom Horrocks hope to raise over £1000 for the Nepalese charity, Phase Worldwide.

However, before departing in October on that three-week expedition, the climbing instructor at Ice Factor Kinlochleven is focused on successfully completing all 2500m of ascent of the Salomon Ring of Steall Skyrace. Mark said: “The Saturday race starts and finishes at Ice Factor so I thought it would be a fun and tough event to complete as part of my preparation for climbing Ama Dablam.To improve my endurance I’ve been doing regular hill-runs, including with a weighted back-pack, climbing at Ice Factor and doing some mountain-biking too.”

Supported by his wife Lindsay, who is expecting their first child in January, Mark admits he’s taking the race seriously: “I don’t expect to win it or even stand on the podium but I’d really like to do a good time – maybe in four hours. If I do well I may even enter the even tougher Salomon Glencoe Skyline next year!”