D'ÊTRE DE RETOUR Ne ICE!

THE WORLD’S LARGEST INDOOR ICE CLIMBING FACILITY REOPENS

le centre d'escalade de glace national monte encore!

Ses Semaine du tourisme écossais et le facteur de glace Kinlochleven, le plus grand centre d'escalade de glace à l'intérieur du monde et l'un des ECOSSE tourisme d'aventure top attractions vont enfin rouvrir ses portes demain (Vendredi 18 Mars).

L'attraction qui attire l'ouest des hauts plateaux par an en moyenne 130,000 Les visiteurs ont été fermés depuis 29 Juillet de l'année dernière en raison de dommages importants de la fumée provoquée par un Feu in the sauna area of the 120 bâtiment séculaire.

Grimpeurs et les amateurs d'aventure de tous les âges et la capacité proviennent de partout dans le Royaume-Uni et à l'étranger à l'échelle de pure Ice Factor 14 mètre de haut-glace murs avec crampons et piolets. Désigné comme le Centre national de l'escalade de glace, l'installation est également utilisé pour la formation des membres de l'équipe d'escalade de glace et GB par Scottish Mountain Rescue.

_SHP2120

Pour célébrer la réouverture, 13 années depuis son ouverture, le gargantuesque 3,4 millions £ attraction, 20 miles au sud de Fort William offre 12 mois adhésion du facteur de glace annuelle libre au premier 100 les gens à revisiter l'établissement primé.

Jamie Smith, propriétaire du facteur Ice Kinlochleven qui emploie 18 membres à temps plein du personnel, les estimations de la fermeture forcée de l'attraction du tourisme d'aventure a coûté son entreprise plus de 950 000 £.

Pour célébrer la réouverture et 13 années depuis sa création, le gargantuesque 3,4 millions de £ attraction offre 12 mois adhésion du facteur de glace annuelle libre au premier 100 les gens à revisiter l'établissement primé.

Smith est confiant amateurs de plein air pourront profiter des installations qui comprennent remaniés la chance pour les grimpeurs débutants comme aux experts de se familiariser avec plus de 400 tonnes et 445 mètres carrés de mur de glace conçu pour reproduire les conditions d'escalade d'hiver sur les goûts de Ben Nevis.

Forgeron, un alpiniste et entrepreneur, m'a dit: « Depuis plus d'une décennie, Ice Factor Kinlochleven a apporté une contribution positive à l'économie du tourisme d'aventure de l'Ecosse. Il a fallu huit mois et après un effort énorme d'équipe, je suis vraiment fier de pouvoir rouvrir un encore plus grand et meilleur facteur de glace Kinlochleven.”

« Ice Factor intègre 1400 mètres carrés d'espace de glace et l'escalade et nous avons eu l'occasion de tripler la taille de notre zone d'escalade dans la section escalade intérieure. Il y a 65 routes sur les murs d'escalade de glace et à un moment donné un total de 18 les gens peuvent assurage / grimper sur le mur de glace.

« Bar Refroidisseurs & Grill continue à servir de la nourriture fraîchement préparée et sur le même niveau il y a une mezzanine réintégrée avec vue sur les zones d'escalade. Le système de ventilation et le chauffage est maintenant entièrement réparé et nous avons pris des mesures pour réduire notre empreinte carbone par recyclage d'une partie de l'énergie utilisée pour produire la glace « .

Smith a ajouté: « Je tiens à remercier nos nombreux clients pour leur patience et nous attendons maintenant avec impatience de les accueillir en arrière pour les charges de plaisir vertical!»

CITATIONS

Fergus Ewing MSP, Le ministre du Tourisme, gouvernement écossais, a commenté: Je suis ravi que le facteur de glace dans Kinlochleven rouvre maintenant. This is terrific news. Facteur de glace est le plus grand mur de glace à l'intérieur du monde, avec des installations pour enseigner aux enfants et aux adultes l'escalade et le bar Refroidisseurs & Grill pour fournir nourriture et rafraîchissements. Je le souhaite beaucoup de succès dans l'avenir « .

Andy Nelson, Chef de l'équipe de secours en montagne Glencoe, a commenté: « Avec ses murs de glace conçus pour reproduire les conditions d'alpinisme d'hiver en plein air classique, for many years our team and other members of Scottish Mountain Rescue have used Ice Factor Kinlochleven as part of our training for rescues. I also guide, et dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables, Ice Factor est idéal pour regarder le mouvement sur les murs et les goûts de travail de corde. It’s a very welcome and unique facility and complements what we do in the outdoors really well.“

Steve Johnstone, GB Ice Climbing Team manager et ancien concurrent Coupe du Monde, ajoutée: « Que ce soit un novice ou expert, Ice Factor vaut son pesant d'or. Il est un set-up fantastique pour la communauté d'escalade, aider à développer les compétences individuelles et donner à nos athlètes GB un emplacement idéal pour se pousser à un niveau encore plus élevé pour les compétitions internationales et à la maison « .

CONTEXTE SUPPLEMENTAIRE

TripAdvisor, Le plus grand site de Voyage au monde, se classe régulièrement Ice Factor Kinlochleven dans son top 5 des attractions dans les Highlands écossais.

En plus de l'escalade de glace et ses énormes murs d'escalade intérieur (l'incorporation d'un sapping d'énergie 6m surplombant paroi articulée), beaucoup de « guerriers du week-end » sont également attirés par la chance de vivre une grande verticale sur son 250 mètres de long parcours d'hébertisme aérien en plein air. Quinze mètres du sol, il dispose même d'une adrénaline swing corde 50metre!

DSC_0970IFL pousse (8 de 56)

Ice Factor Kinlochleven a ouvert ses portes en 2003 after being converted from its former use as a Victorian era aluminium smelter. Overlooking the easternmost shores of Loch Leven et pris en sandwich entre les zones de montagne britanniques classiques de Glencoe, les Mamores et Glen Nevis, il est régulièrement visité par les promeneurs qui font un détour 200m de la célèbre West Highland Way sentier de randonnée longue distance.

L'établissement est ouvert 364 jours de l'année (fermé le jour de Noël).

www.ice-factor.co.uk

N’ICE TO BE BACK!

THE WORLD’S LARGEST INDOOR ICE CLIMBING FACILITY REOPENS

the national ice climbing centre rides again!  

It’s Scottish Tourism Week and Ice Factor Kinlochleven, the world’s largest indoor ice climbing facility and one of Scotland’s top adventure tourism attractions will finally reopen its doors tomorrow (Friday 18 March).

The west highland attraction that annually attracts an average of 130,000 visitors had been closed since 29 July last year due to extensive smoke damage caused by a fire in the sauna area of the 120 year-old building.

Climbers and adventure seekers of all ages and ability come from throughout the UK and abroad to scale Ice Factor’s sheer 14 metre high ice-walls with crampons and ice-axes. Designated as the National Center for Ice Climbing, the facility is also used for training by members of the GB Ice Climbing Team and by Scottish Mountain Rescue.

_SHP2120

To celebrate the reopening, 13 years since it first opened, the gargantuan £3.4 million attraction, 20 miles south of Fort William is offering 12 month’s free annual Ice Factor membership to the first 100 people to revisit the award winning facility.

Jamie Smith, owner of Ice Factor Kinlochleven that employs 18 full-time members of staff, estimates the enforced closure of the adventure tourism attraction has cost his business in excess of £950,000.

To celebrate the reopening and 13 years since its creation, the gargantuan £3.4 million attraction is offering 12 month’s free annual Ice Factor membership to the first 100 people to revisit the award winning facility.

Smith is confident outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the revamped facilities which include the chance for novice and expert climbers alike to get to grips with over 400 tonnes and 445 square metres of ice-wall designed to replicate winter climbing conditions on the likes of Ben Nevis.

Smith, a mountaineer and entrepreneur, said: “For over a decade, Ice Factor Kinlochleven has made a positive contribution to Scotland’s adventure tourism economy. It has taken eight months and after a huge team effort I’m really proud to be able to reopen an even bigger and better Ice Factor Kinlochleven.”

“Ice Factor incorporates 1400 square metres of ice and rock climbing space and we’ve taken the opportunity to treble the size of our bouldering area within the indoor rock climbing section. There’s 65 routes on the ice climbing walls and at any one time a total of 18 people can belay / climb on the ice-wall.

“Chillers Bar & Grill continues to serve freshly prepared food and on the same level there’s a reinstated mezzanine floor with views to the climbing areas. The ventilation and heating system is now fully repaired and we’ve taken steps to lower our carbon footprint by recycling some of the energy used to produce the ice.”

Smith added: “I’d like to thank our many customers for their patience and we now look forward to welcoming them back for loads of vertical fun!”

QUOTES

Fergus Ewing MSP, Tourism Minister, Scottish Government, commented: I am delighted that Ice Factor in Kinlochleven is now re-opening.   This is terrific news. Ice Factor is the world’s largest indoor ice wall, with facilities to teach children and adults climbing and the Chillers Bar & Grill to provide sustenance and refreshment. I wish it continued success in the future.”

Andy Nelson, Leader of the Glencoe Mountain Rescue Team, commented: “With its ice walls designed to replicate classic outdoor winter mountaineering conditions, for many years our team and other members of Scottish Mountain Rescue have used Ice Factor Kinlochleven as part of our training for rescues.  I also guide, and in adverse weather conditions, Ice Factor is great for looking at movement on the walls and the likes of rope work. It’s a very welcome and unique facility and complements what we do in the outdoors really well.“  

Steve Johnstone, GB Ice Climbing Team manager and a former World Cup competitor, added: “Whether a novice or expert, Ice Factor is worth its weight in gold. It’s a fantastic set-up for the climbing community, helping to develop individual skills and giving our GB athletes a great location to push themselves to an even higher standard for both home and international competitions.”

ADDITIONAL BACKGROUND

TripAdvisor, the world’s largest travel site, consistently ranks Ice Factor Kinlochleven within its top 5 of attractions in the Scottish highlands.

In addition to ice-climbing and its huge indoor rock climbing walls (incorporating an energy sapping 6m overhanging articulated wall), many ‘weekend warriors’ are also attracted by the chance to experience a vertical high on its 250 metre long outdoor aerial adventure course. Fifteen metres off the ground, it even features an adrenaline pumping 50metre rope swing!

DSC_0970IFL Shoot (8 of 56)

Ice Factor Kinlochleven first opened in 2003 after being converted from its former use as a Victorian era aluminium smelter.  Overlooking the easternmost shores of Loch Leven and sandwiched between the classic British mountaineering areas of Glencoe, the Mamores and Glen Nevis, it’s regularly visited by walkers who make a 200m detour from the famous West Highland Way long-distance hiking route.

The facility is open 364 days of the year (closed Christmas Day).

www.ice-factor.co.uk